North Carolina man hit with $250,000 bail for DWI charge

A North Carolina man was recently jailed after his ninth impaired driving charge. He was arrested early in the morning on Feb. 4 when he was driving in the wrong lane of traffic and ran a red light. He has seven previous DWI convictions stemming from many different counties. The man's bail is set at $250,000 as requested by the district attorney.

Impaired driving in North Carolina

Drivers will be charged with impaired driving in North Carolina if they have a blood alcohol concentration of 0 .08 or more, are under the influence of an impairing substance or if they have any amount of a Schedule I controlled substance in their systems. Those under the age of 21 will be charged with impaired driving if they have consumed any alcohol or other impairing substance.

Drivers can also not drink while they are driving or drive with an open container in their vehicle.

North Carolina law also has a habitual impaired driving offense. Drivers will be charged with this offense if they have been convicted of three or more impaired driving offenses in the past 10 years.

Penalties for driving impaired

People charged with driving while impaired for the first time will have their licenses suspended for one year, but they may be able to obtain a restricted license after 30 days. They will also face fines up to $2,000 and will spend between 24 hours and 24 months in prison and have to perform 24 hours of community service.

If people are convicted of driving impaired for a second time within three years of their first offense, they will have to spend between seven days and 12 months in prison and will have their licenses revoked for four years. People will not be allowed to have any restricted driving privileges if they had a conviction within the last seven years.

Also, in North Carolina, when driver's licenses are restored following an impaired driving conviction, they will have limited driving privileges. After a first offense, people driving with a BAC of 0.04 or higher will be charged again. People convicted of impaired driving more than once cannot drive with any alcohol in their systems.

People convicted of driving impaired for a third time will have their licenses revoked permanently if they were convicted within the past five years. They will face a fine of up to $2,000 and 14 days to 24 months in prison. Upon a fourth conviction, drivers will have their licenses revoked permanently and may face a felony conviction if the three previous convictions were in the last seven years. The driver will be in prison for one to three years and will face a fine.

North Carolina laws are tough on those convicted of drinking and driving. People charged with drinking and driving face serious and life-changing consequences. An experienced criminal law attorney can help people charged with drinking and driving assure that their rights are protected.